Working Group Avian Morphology

The International Working Group Avian Morphology was established at the 26th International Ornithological Congress, which was held in August 2014 in Tokyo, Japan.

The Mission of WGAM

To create and maintain a platform for

(1) coordinating of studies in avian morphology worldwide from both basic and applied perspectives;

(2) establishing and maintaining an Internet library for the exchange of publications among the members;

(3) translating publications into English;

(4) updating a standardized nomenclature of avian anatomical terms.

Organization and Operation of the WGAO

WGAM has a Chair, Vice-Chair and several coordinators responsible for running separate projects. A home page portal will be set up in the IOU website to facilitate communication among WGAM members, including discussions on special topics, information sharing, and coordination of joint projects.

Current Committee Members

Chair: Prof. Andrei V. Zinoviev, Tver State University, Tver, Russia. Email: nyroca2002@gmail.com.

Vice-Chair: Prof. Ron A. Meyers, Weber State University, Ogden, U.S.A. Email: rmeyers@weber.edu.

Nomina Anatomica Avium-3 and Library Project Coordinator: Prof. Ron A. Meyers, Weber State University, Ogden, U.S.A. Email: rmeyers@weber.edu.

Translation Project Coordinator: Dr. Junya Watanabe, Kyoto University, Kyoto, Japan. Email: watanabe-j@kueps.kyoto-u.ac.jp.

Advisors: Prof. Dominique G. Homberger, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, U.S.A. Email: zodhomb@lsu.edu. Prof. Walter Bock, New York, U.S.A. Email: wb4@columbia.edu; Dr. James C. Vanden Berge, Naperville, U.S.A. Email: jcvandenberge1@comcast.net.

Committee Members: Prof. Andrzej Elzanowski, University of Warsaw, Warsaw, Poland. Email; elzanowski@miiz.waw.pl; Elizabeth Höfling, Natural History Museum of Taubate, Taubate, Brazil. Email: ehofling@usp.br.

Meetings

Meetings of the Committee Members are held once in four years during Round-Table Discussions at the International Ornithological Congresses.

Members

No.

Last name

First Name

Country

Email

Position in IOU

  1.  

Abourachid

Anick

France

abourach@mnhn.fr

 

  1.  

Baldwin

Maude

USA

maudebaldwin@gmail.com

 

  1.  

Chama

Lackson

Zambia

lackson.chama@cbu.ac.zm

 

  1.  

Echols

Scott

USA

spotdvm@aol.com

 

  1.  

Eda

Masahi

Japan

edamsk@museum.hakudai.ac.jp

 

  1.  

Elemans

Coen

Denmark

coen@biology.sdu.dk

 

  1.  

Fjeldsa

Jon

Denmark

jfjeldsaa@snm.ku.dk

Senior Fellow

  1.  

Galvao

Ana

Brazil

agalvao@biologia.ufrg.br

 

  1.  

Gunji

Megu

Japan

megu_850121a@yahoo.co.jp

 

  1.  

Hu

Huijian

China

13922339577@139.com

 

  1.  

Iwami

Yasuko

Japan

iwami@yamashina.or.jp

 

  1.  

Kalyakin

Mikhail

Russia

kalyakin@rambler.ru

 

  1.  

Kuchinke

Diana

Australia

diana@kuchinke.com.au

 

  1.  

Li

Zhiheng

China

lizhiheng1982@hotmail.com

 

  1.  

Machado

Juliana

Brazil

jmachado@ufrg.br

 

  1.  

Niessner

Christine

Germany

c.niessner@lmu.de

 

  1.  

Proffitt

James

USA

jvproffitt@gmail.com

 

  1.  

Provini

Pauline

Brazil

pauline.provini@gmail.com

 

  1.  

Schodde

Richard

Australia

rschodde@grapevine.com.au

Senior Fellow

  1.  

Wang

Xia

China

wangxia8383@gmail.com

 

  1.  

Watanabe

Junya

Japan

watanabe-j@kueps.kyoto-u.ac.jp

 

  1.  

Wild

Martin

New Zealand

jm.wild@auckland.ac.nz

 

  1.  

Zhang

Zihui

China

zihuizhang@cnu.edu.cn

 

  1.  

Zhifeng

Ding

China

dingzhf@gmail.com